Austra Muizniece
Austra Muizniece  Identity Verified
Letland
Local time: 18:36
Lid 2004
Engels naar Lets
+ ...
Sep 28, 2004

Hello! I was wondering about interpreting speeches and announcements in anniversary parties - I have been offered to interpret (consecutively)for a company at its 10th year anniversary party, seems like it is going to be quite a formal event, so I'd like to know if there are any "does" or "don'ts" related to that.I'd be very grateful if anyone could give some advice, as I am a bit of a rookie in this area

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spanje
Local time: 17:36
Spaans naar Engels
+ ...
For formal occasions Sep 28, 2004

Get a copy of the speeches in advance, then work around it. That's the easiest part of interpreting. (It's when they go off-track that you have to be on your toes).

CMJ_Trans (X)
CMJ_Trans (X)
Frans naar Engels
+ ...
Stay stone-cold sober ! Sep 28, 2004

Very often speeches like this are during or after a heavy meal or buffet with lots to drink. Do not be tempted. You need to stay awake and keep your wits about you. Sounds obvious but it is easy to get swept along in the party spirit!
Remember to take something to write on and something to write with, preferably a pen that won't leak! A small notepad is probably better than A4 sheets of paper.
As Parrot says, try to get a copy of the speech(es) in advance. If you succeed, practise tr
... See more
Very often speeches like this are during or after a heavy meal or buffet with lots to drink. Do not be tempted. You need to stay awake and keep your wits about you. Sounds obvious but it is easy to get swept along in the party spirit!
Remember to take something to write on and something to write with, preferably a pen that won't leak! A small notepad is probably better than A4 sheets of paper.