Newcomer's dilemma: immigration interpreting (US)
Thread poster: Mercedes Claire Gilliom
Mercedes Claire Gilliom
Mercedes Claire Gilliom  Identity Verified
France
French to English
+ ...
Apr 30, 2012

I am a translator with limited interpreting experience. Recently I was approached by an individual who requires a Fr > En interpreter for his Immigration Services interview. I informed him that I am not a trained interpreter, but that I would be willing to do the job for my minimum hourly translation rate. I asked him for details about his case. He then informed me that he is seeking asylum in the United States.

I am now wondering what the best course of action is. When I quoted hi
... See more
I am a translator with limited interpreting experience. Recently I was approached by an individual who requires a Fr > En interpreter for his Immigration Services interview. I informed him that I am not a trained interpreter, but that I would be willing to do the job for my minimum hourly translation rate. I asked him for details about his case. He then informed me that he is seeking asylum in the United States.

I am now wondering what the best course of action is. When I quoted him my hourly rate, I was under the impression that his case was more along the lines of a visa renewal or status change. Asylum seems like a much higher-stakes proposition.

I am also under the impression that he cannot afford to hire a certified interpreter. My minimum hourly rate is certainly lower than the standard hourly rate for a certified interpreter in the Washington, DC area, and I think that has a lot to do with why he is seeking my services. His appointment is about ten days from now.

My questions are the following:

-Are there pro bono interpreting services for asylum seekers? Would he be able to secure their services within the next ten days?