Giulia Faraguna
Giulia Faraguna  Identity Verified
Németország
Local time: 02:21
angol - spanyol
+ ...
May 28, 2010

Hello

a customer offers me full time interpreting, 7 days a month, 12 hour x day from english to spanish;
The job will be one month and a half and he offers 145€ a month plus accomodation and meals, including VAT; it will make 6.090€ net including VAT.

I have some experience in conference interpreting, I am starting as a professional. Normally I charge much more per hour, it is a good price?

Regards

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
Egyesült Királyság
Local time: 01:21
flamand - angol
+ ...
Calculation. May 28, 2010

Giulietti wrote:

Hello

a customer offers me full time interpreting, 7 days a month, 12 hour x day from english to spanish;
The job will be one month and a half and he offers 145€ a month plus accomodation and meals, including VAT; it will make 6.090€ net including VAT.

I have some experience in conference interpreting, I am starting as a professional. Normally I charge much more per hour, it is a good price?

Regards

Don't know how you calculate.
Net including VAT is not net.
Is it 7 days a month or per week?
Count a miminum of €50 per hour x 12 hours x 7 (days/per month?)x VAT and doesn't Spain have something like IPFRS. 12 hours per day alone? This is not €6.090 net including VAT.
I still have to meet an interpreter, who can interpret 12 consecutive hours.

Laureana Pavon
Laureana Pavon  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 21:21
Tag (2007 óta)
angol - spanyol
+ ...

MODERÁTOR
Interpreting 12 hours a day May 28, 2010

Williamson wrote:

I completely agree.

I've been interpreting since 1992 and I can safely say that it's not easy to interpret 12 hours a day, let alone do it for 1.5 months in a row.

No matter the price, just be sure that you don't get yourself into a tight spot.

[Edited at 2010-05-29 00:49 GMT]

Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
Giuseppina Gatta, MA (Hons)
angol - olasz
+ ...
Good Luck May 29, 2010