Annett Roessner
Annett Roessner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 21:06
Member (2017)
English to German
Jan 11, 2018

Hello there,

I'm currently studying a Masters in Translation Studies and I am about to complete my first essay on the topic:

'What are the limitations of the notion of equivalence in the practice of translation?'

I have done all theoratical ground work but would like to include a few statements of 'real' tranlsators into my work regarding the topic.
My first paragraph deals with the complexity of the notion of equivalence and how this may lead to tran
... See more
Hello there,

I'm currently studying a Masters in Translation Studies and I am about to complete my first essay on the topic:

'What are the limitations of the notion of equivalence in the practice of translation?'

I have done all theoratical ground work but would like to include a few statements of 'real' tranlsators into my work regarding the topic.
My first paragraph deals with the complexity of the notion of equivalence and how this may lead to translators not making use of the equivalence concept when translating.

Another paragraph deals with the instability of meaning, in that the source text and target text can often be interpreted in several different ways and hence equivalance is impossible to achieve.

I would be very grateful to get some comments about what practising translators think about equivalence and if they actually use it in their daily work. Maybe also reasons why you use it or chose not to use it.

Thank you so much in advance.

Best regards

Annett
Collapse

Daniel Frisano
Daniel Frisano  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:06
Member (2008)
English to Italian
+ ...
Question Jan 12, 2018

If you don't use equivalence when translating, what other criteria do you follow?

Stated another way, is it even possible to translate (not "transcreate") without equivalence?

I'd be curious to see an example of non-equivalent translation.

Annett Roessner
Australia