Thread poster: Michael Manion (X)
Michael Manion (X)
Michael Manion (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:56
Russian to English
Oct 8, 2017

Hello,

I am a beginning translator and I am building a portfolio of projects I have done in the past. I have one question regarding the format of a translated document and one about translating citations (since I have a few projects that have citations in them).

Formatting- When writing the translation, can I do it on Microsoft Word? If I can do it on Microsoft Word, should I format each page in two columns (one column English and the other the target language)? ... See more
Hello,

I am a beginning translator and I am building a portfolio of projects I have done in the past. I have one question regarding the format of a translated document and one about translating citations (since I have a few projects that have citations in them).

Formatting- When writing the translation, can I do it on Microsoft Word? If I can do it on Microsoft Word, should I format each page in two columns (one column English and the other the target language)?

Citations- A few of the projects I have done have citations. I do not know which format to translate the citations into: MLA or APA. My question is which citation formatting should I use?

If you can, let me know of any answers to these questions when you get a chance. Also, let me know if you need any clarification to these questions I have.

Regards,
Michael
Collapse

Olga Koepping
Olga Koepping  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:56
German to English
+ ...
In the nicest possible way, you're not quite ready Oct 8, 2017

May I also highlight something you have put in your profile which a fair number of my colleagues might find quite annoying:

"looking to take on translating projects for free translating from Russian into English"