How to make a book with many quotations readable in translation
Thread poster: 2dwight
2dwight
2dwight
United States
Portuguese to English
Jan 20, 2017

For simplicity, please assume a situation that is analogous but not exactly true: that I am a graduate student in history who has been fortunate enough to have published an article in a respected journal. I have a subject area for my next article and I have concluded that as part of my research I need to translate a book. My professor is enthusiastic and encouraging about both my research and the translation. He thinks that both the research and the translation will merit publication. Especi... See more
For simplicity, please assume a situation that is analogous but not exactly true: that I am a graduate student in history who has been fortunate enough to have published an article in a respected journal. I have a subject area for my next article and I have concluded that as part of my research I need to translate a book. My professor is enthusiastic and encouraging about both my research and the translation. He thinks that both the research and the translation will merit publication. Especially after reading a lot of posts on this site, I will be indeed, pleasantly surprised if the translation ever gets published, but I still think I need to do it.

However, against the possibility that it might find a publisher I have a question. The book is by a respected (deceased) 20th Century historian and examines an area of late 16th Century history. Most documentary sources for this particular area were burned in the first half of the 17th Century. However, in the 20th Century an important source was rediscovered. This historian makes use of this source to closely examine and refute or verify histories written by 17th Century historians.