Search ‘background’ Dictionaries while translating in Transit NXT, which are not auto-searched?
Thread poster: Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:28
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Sep 10, 2019

I'm new to Transit NXT, and am wondering if there's a way to search through multiple TermStar Dictionaries while translating, even if some of them are not project Dictionaries. That is, if they aren't being automatically searched for potential matches while translating.

Use case: while translating, I connect several large background Dictionaries, and one or more project Dictionaries for matches.

Michael

Gerald Dennett
Gerald Dennett  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
German to English
+ ...
Use as many dictionaries as you like Sep 10, 2019

Just add as many dictionaries as you need. You can add and remove dictionaries to the project at will.
Dictionaries that are not loaded will not be searched.
HTH
Gerald

Iris Kleinophorst
Iris Kleinophorst  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:28
Chinese to German
+ ...
Order the project dictionaries according to priority Sep 10, 2019

Hi Michael

Yes, Gerald is right, of course, just add any dictionary that might contain useful vocabulary.

You can define a hierarchy/priority of your dictionaries in the dictionary tab of the project settings by selecting a single dictionary and pulling it up or down in the list. This way, potential matches are displayed according to priority.

HTH
Iris

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks (both of you)! Sep 10, 2019

However, I don't think I was clear enough.

What I mean is: can you set it so that certain Dictionaries are automatically searched for relevant terminology while translating (these are loaded in the project as you both mentioned), and others only for manual searching.