Thread poster: Lucy Kr (X)
Lucy Kr (X)
Lucy Kr (X)
Cyprus
Local time: 23:48
English to Czech
+ ...
Mar 9, 2019

Hi guys, I am new to subtitling, but I learned and understand everything except the shot change. Could someone please explain to me. I know that the subtitles should be timed according the shot change, but when the shot change happens, what is it excatly? Thank you for any replies.

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:48
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Shot change Mar 9, 2019

It's either a change of location, scene or angle.

Manuel Bas y Mansilla
Manuel Bas y Mansilla  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Spanish
Example Mar 9, 2019

In this example, you can see how the subtitle dissappears a few frames before the camera angle changes (0:07):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiBLgQA1wos

Jan Truper
Jan Truper  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2016)
English to German
... Mar 10, 2019

Here's a link describing how Netflix handles shot changes:

https://partnerhelp.netflixstudios.com/hc/en-us/articles/215758617-Timed-Text-Style-Guide-General-Requirements

Lucy Kr (X)
Lucy Kr (X)
Cyprus
English to Czech
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you all Mar 10, 2019

Jan Truper wrote:

Here's a link describing how Netflix handles shot changes:

https://partnerhelp.netflixstudios.com/hc/en-us/articles/215758617-Timed-Text-Style-Guide-General-Requirements

Could you please give me some example regarding the Netflix shot changes, I think I get it but I need to see it on example. I would appreciate it very much.

Sylvano
Sylvano
English to French
Shot change 101 Mar 11, 2019