Steps to Improve towards a Specialty? (Japanese to English)
Thread poster: Michael Blaskowsky
Michael Blaskowsky
Michael Blaskowsky  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:23
Member (2018)
Japanese to English
Apr 24, 2020

I've been translating for over four years now and really enjoy the profession and work. I'm at a point where I've worked a fair amount of different subject matters and have developed a good process that creates high-quality work, but want to take the next steps towards defining and creating a name for myself in specific fields, particularly gaming and literature. I've done work in both and really would love for them to constitute the majority of my work. I know that they are the two fields that ... See more
I've been translating for over four years now and really enjoy the profession and work. I'm at a point where I've worked a fair amount of different subject matters and have developed a good process that creates high-quality work, but want to take the next steps towards defining and creating a name for myself in specific fields, particularly gaming and literature. I've done work in both and really would love for them to constitute the majority of my work. I know that they are the two fields that EVERYONE wants to work in, but I'd still like to work towards those goals.

Specifically with Japanese to English, does anyone have any recommendations on steps to take to help obtain more gaming and literature work? I've been following the posting enough to know that those types of jobs do not pop up that often, so I want to be more proactive. Here are some ideas I've had.

- Try my hand at competitions
- Join professional J>E translator organizations
- Find work I would like to translate and approach publishers/developers independently
- Japanese literature courses (don't have the funds for a translation degree)