Any information on German-to-English distance learning courses for financial translation?
Thread poster: etoh
Aug 24, 2012

Hi there,

I'm a German-to-English translator interested in doing a distance learning course for financial texts - reports, accounting, business plans, etc. I've done some research and have found options from institutions/organisations based in Germany, but they have a snag - they require participants to translate into and out of both English and German.

Does anyone know of courses which allow people to translate into one language only? German isn't my native language,
... See more
Hi there,

I'm a German-to-English translator interested in doing a distance learning course for financial texts - reports, accounting, business plans, etc. I've done some research and have found options from institutions/organisations based in Germany, but they have a snag - they require participants to translate into and out of both English and German.

Does anyone know of courses which allow people to translate into one language only? German isn't my native language, so I'm just not comfortable with the prospect of doing coursework that requires me to translate into a foreign language regardless how familiar I am with it. The offers I've seen range from basic primers which take just a few months to more advanced options which take up to a year and a half: I'm open to all options.

Thanks in advance for any tips,
E
Collapse

RobinB
RobinB  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 18:51
German to English
Some ideas Aug 26, 2012

I think that NYU used to offer a distance-learning certificate in financial translation, or maybe it was a certificate in German translation with a financial translation element. I'm not sure that they still offer this course, but maybe it's something you could check out.