Thread poster: Federica Meacci
Federica Meacci
Federica Meacci  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:14
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 21, 2010

Hi everyone!

I am a Conference Interpreting student and I will obtain my PG degree in March. I would likt to move to the U.K., in particular to London to find a job there as interpreter/translator. I have a bit of experience but not much and I am also considering taking an MA or a diploma but here a mess starts.
I have found an MA in Legal Translation at City University in Lond
... See more
Hi everyone!

I am a Conference Interpreting student and I will obtain my PG degree in March. I would likt to move to the U.K., in particular to London to find a job there as interpreter/translator. I have a bit of experience but not much and I am also considering taking an MA or a diploma but here a mess starts.
I have found an MA in Legal Translation at City University in London: http://www.city.ac.uk/study/courses/arts/legal-translation-ma-diploma.html

and other three interesting courses at Met uni.
Legal Interpreting which entails an itnenship but does not concretely contribute to the DPSI:
http://www.londonmet.ac.uk/pgprospectus/courses/legal-interpreting-pgd.cfm

Health Interpreting which will give me task 1 and task 2 of the DPSI but no internship: http://www.londonmet.ac.uk/pgprospectus/courses/health-interpreting-pgc.cfm

MAPSI which, as far as I have understood, is not the same as the DPSI (menaing I woiuld have to pass all the tests for theDPSI, wouldn't I?): http://www.londonmet.ac.uk/pgprospectus/courses/public-service-interpreting.cfm

I am comparing all these courses as I think an IoL accreditation would be considered positively by agencies and private clients. Now, the thing I do not understand is that I need to take the DPSI to become a member of the IoL or if these are two different things.

All in all, I would like to ask you any advice you may have on the most reasonable step I should make.

Thank you very much!

Federica