Off topic: Open University
Thread poster: Chiharu Oakley
Chiharu Oakley
Chiharu Oakley
Local time: 05:53
English to Japanese
+ ...
May 10, 2010

I am an experienced Japanese translator, and I usually receive translation work from Japan. I never had a registration problem with translation agencies before although I do not have university degree as long as I passed the trial test given by them. However, holding university degree is essential in order to register with translation agency in the U.K. So, I am thinking to apply for a BA course in Open University.

I would like to know about recognizability in BA degree in Open U
... See more
I am an experienced Japanese translator, and I usually receive translation work from Japan. I never had a registration problem with translation agencies before although I do not have university degree as long as I passed the trial test given by them. However, holding university degree is essential in order to register with translation agency in the U.K. So, I am thinking to apply for a BA course in Open University.

I would like to know about recognizability in BA degree in Open University. Is anyone here have obtained BA degree in Open University and have registered with translation agencies in the U.K? I am thinking to apply for English Language Study Course. Please give me advice from your experience?
Collapse

Charles Santos
Charles Santos  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 02:53
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Recognition Jul 25, 2010

I remember an old math teacher of mine that used to say that 'the good student can learn anywhere'... I agree with him, you can learn well in any university, but I would say that a 'distance learning' degree will always be under recognized than a 'normal degree'.

I think that if you are looking for recognition by an agency the best thing to do would be a normal degree!

Chiharu Oakley
Chiharu Oakley
English to Japanese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Jul 26, 2010

Dear Charles,