Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Off topic: If you weren't a translator / interpreter, what would you like to be?
Thread poster: Marina Steinbach
Marina Steinbach
Marina Steinbach
United States
Local time: 15:45
Member (2011)
English to German
May 17, 2020

If you weren't a translator / interpreter, what would you like to be?

Becca Resnik
Becca Resnik  Identity Verified
United States
German to English
+ ...
So many options May 17, 2020

Oof, this is a hard question for me, as I'm interested in so many things. Well, I'm still an engineer by day and love my job, so that would technically be the answer for me. Once I leave engineering to pursue translation full-time, I'm actually planning to go back to school to study physical therapy. It's something I've always wanted to do, and while it'll serve as side income for me (and open up medical translation), I just never know where life will take me...I hope language is where my career... See more
Oof, this is a hard question for me, as I'm interested in so many things. Well, I'm still an engineer by day and love my job, so that would technically be the answer for me. Once I leave engineering to pursue translation full-time, I'm actually planning to go back to school to study physical therapy. It's something I've always wanted to do, and while it'll serve as side income for me (and open up medical translation), I just never know where life will take me...I hope language is where my career will "live" forever, but PT is my fallback in the event translation doesn't pan out for me. Or maybe I'd wind up circling back to engineering...Collapse

The Misha
The Misha
Russian to English
+ ...
A pirate May 17, 2020

Definitely a pirate:)

Liviu-Lee Roth
Christopher Schröder
P.L.F. Persio
Dan Lucas
Tradwind (X)

Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 20:45
English to German
+ ...
If you weren't a translator / interpreter, what would you like to be? May 17, 2020

- Pediatric heart surgeon
- Rock guitarist