Should I send an e-mail reminder to a potential client?
Thread poster: Dominika Fonyiová
Dominika Fonyiová
Dominika Fonyiová
Slovakia
Local time: 14:52
English to Slovak
+ ...
Jan 27, 2019

Hello everyone!

I am a freelance translator who has, however, worked mostly for translation agencies, with only a small number of direct clients. Last year I sent around 500 e-mails to different SMEs in my country, in an attempt to find more direct clients. I only received around 10 responses, most of which were written in a sort of lukewarm tone, BUT three of the companies who responded seemed truly interested in my translation services. Long story short, they didn't need any tran
... See more
Hello everyone!

I am a freelance translator who has, however, worked mostly for translation agencies, with only a small number of direct clients. Last year I sent around 500 e-mails to different SMEs in my country, in an attempt to find more direct clients. I only received around 10 responses, most of which were written in a sort of lukewarm tone, BUT three of the companies who responded seemed truly interested in my translation services. Long story short, they didn't need any translation straight away, but they said they were planning to launch sale of their products abroad in 2019 and that they would indeed need to translate their website as well as some contracts when the time comes.

All of the three companies are natural cosmetics producers, and I regularly buy their products. This is why I am particularly interested in working with them - cosmetics is a topic which I really enjoy translating and reading about.

However, I was worrying that perhaps they have already forgotten I contacted them last year, and I was wondering if I should send them an e-mail reminder. But I also don't want to seem too... desperate?

So, what do you think? Should I simply wait or should I send them an e-mail? What should I say not to sound annoying or off-putting?
Collapse

Thayenga