Should Monolinguals Use MT?
Thread poster: Nicholas Magnolia
Nicholas Magnolia
Nicholas Magnolia
United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 28, 2018

I work as a translator for a school district whose population consists of 80% Spanish speakers and due to the vast amount of communications that need to be translated, much of the day-to-day communications (messages to families, letters, notices, newsletters, progress reports, homework logs etc.) are being left to Google Translate and bilingual staff who already have multiple roles to play and so many times can't make translation a priority.

Since it's unlikely that the district wi
... See more
I work as a translator for a school district whose population consists of 80% Spanish speakers and due to the vast amount of communications that need to be translated, much of the day-to-day communications (messages to families, letters, notices, newsletters, progress reports, homework logs etc.) are being left to Google Translate and bilingual staff who already have multiple roles to play and so many times can't make translation a priority.

Since it's unlikely that the district will find the funds to place a linguist in each school, is it linguistically and culturally appropriate/ethical for monolingual speakers (who either have some or no knowledge of the target language) to use MT like DeepL as a substitute for human translation?

Thank you.
Collapse

Daniel Frisano
Daniel Frisano  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 16:50
Member (2008)
English to Italian
+ ...
Pro bono? Jul 1, 2018

Looks like a good opportunity for voluntary work. Have you tried posting an invitation to volunteer as a ProZ job posting? (Provided that it is allowed by the rules, and that it doesn't draw the ire of anybody)

I'd happily take a few hundred words daily myself, but I am not sure that my rusty non-native European Spanish would be appropriate - or better than MT, for that matter.

Perhaps you can also devise some system of non-monetary reward.