Julia Glasmann
Julia Glasmann
Germany
Member (2006)
English to German
+ ...
Mar 25, 2020

Ciao ragazzi,

Scusatemi se scrivo in inglese, pero non sono fluente in italiano e faccio ancora tanti errori...

I am a German-English freelance translator living in Italy. I speak Italian well enough to get by, but not good enough to write it properly, so I was hoping for some help.

Last night, I received an email from my main (and currently only) translation agency (based in NYC), telling me that they will no longer send me work during the corona crisis, s
... See more
Ciao ragazzi,

Scusatemi se scrivo in inglese, pero non sono fluente in italiano e faccio ancora tanti errori...

I am a German-English freelance translator living in Italy. I speak Italian well enough to get by, but not good enough to write it properly, so I was hoping for some help.

Last night, I received an email from my main (and currently only) translation agency (based in NYC), telling me that they will no longer send me work during the corona crisis, since they are assigning my work to in-house staff instead. They had been sending me frequent work on a weekly basis for eight years, so essentially, I am unemployed for the time being.

I would like to send my landlord a quick message (I am praying she is gonna cut as a break for a couple of months), but my Italian is just not good enough. I had planned on drafting a message in Italian and sending it to an Italian friend for proofing, but baby is teething and did not sleep all night and I am tired and nervous and keep getting stuck just writing the first sentence...

Being a freelancer myself, I hate it when people ask for free translations, so I am happy to pay for it (okay, maybe not happy, but willing) - maybe somebody can take a quick look at my draft and let me know how much they would charge (PayPal or bank transfer). I don't need a literal translation, as long as it gets the message across. Here it is:

"Good morning, Mrs. xzy,