Thread poster: Yvette Neisser Moreno
Yvette Neisser Moreno
Yvette Neisser Moreno  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:41
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jan 7, 2008

Hi folks, I've seen similar topics addressed in this forum, but I haven't seen my specific questions answered, and I'm hoping you can help me.

I am new to the field of interpretation, but I have begun doing non-specialized Spanish-English medical interpretation for one agency. I live in MD, in a suburb of Washington, DC. All of the interpretation assignments I do for this agency are doctor's appointments lasting anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 hour. The locations vary, they are all lo
... See more
Hi folks, I've seen similar topics addressed in this forum, but I haven't seen my specific questions answered, and I'm hoping you can help me.

I am new to the field of interpretation, but I have begun doing non-specialized Spanish-English medical interpretation for one agency. I live in MD, in a suburb of Washington, DC. All of the interpretation assignments I do for this agency are doctor's appointments lasting anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 hour. The locations vary, they are all local and I drive to the location from my house. Driving time is anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour (each way), distance anywhere from 10 miles to 40 miles.

Based on information I have gathered on this site, I have set my standard interpretation rate at $30/hour (with a 2-hour minimum). Because the actual interpretation time is so short, and the driving takes up most of my time, I have been charging my hourly rate "door to door", from the time I leave home to the time I return home. I have also been charging the standard U.S. mileage rate of $0.485/mile since I am always driving my own vehicle.