Karolina Łachmacka
Karolina Łachmacka  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 11:40
English to Polish
+ ...
May 30, 2015

Hello dear members,

First of all, I want to introduce myself as this is the very first post on the forum I write. My name is Karolina and I am a young translator and interpreter, native Polish language speaker whose B language is English.

I am writing here since I really count on your experience and advice. I am interested in taking the DPSI exam next year and I have already found a nice online course to prepare with. My question is if you believe it is possible for som
... See more
Hello dear members,

First of all, I want to introduce myself as this is the very first post on the forum I write. My name is Karolina and I am a young translator and interpreter, native Polish language speaker whose B language is English.

I am writing here since I really count on your experience and advice. I am interested in taking the DPSI exam next year and I have already found a nice online course to prepare with. My question is if you believe it is possible for someone outside of the UK to start their interpreting career in London after passing this exam without previous experience in this country? My dream is to work in London and I am currently doing my best to improve my skills and I really want to do my best with the course. I know that first I need to pass the exam, but I am interested in the prospects for a newcomer with such a diploma. I realise that one needs to have to be really skilled to pass this exam, however I am interested in getting to know the business there, making a good research.

Many thanks in advance for every piece of advice!
Collapse

MsYvaine
MsYvaine  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:40
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Hello Jun 1, 2015

This maybe useful for you: http://www.ecpdwebinars.co.uk/downloads/how-to-become-a-public-service-interpreter/