Martina Rotondi
Martina Rotondi  Identity Verified
Austria
Local time: 16:32
German to Italian
+ ...
Mar 10, 2015

Hello!

I'am a passionate interpreter and I really love what I do. I've started working a few months ago as freelance and I always want to act as a professional interpreter but sometimes this means losing clients.
As I am still a beginner I'm often asked to interpret alone in the booth (!!!) or to travel with no refund of expenses (!!).
When I explain that there is no way I'm going to interpret alone in the booth or travel without refund most of the clients just say "good
... See more
Hello!

I'am a passionate interpreter and I really love what I do. I've started working a few months ago as freelance and I always want to act as a professional interpreter but sometimes this means losing clients.
As I am still a beginner I'm often asked to interpret alone in the booth (!!!) or to travel with no refund of expenses (!!).
When I explain that there is no way I'm going to interpret alone in the booth or travel without refund most of the clients just say "goodbye".

What is the best way to be professional without losing clients?

Thanks for your help!

Martina

[Modificato alle 2015-03-10 10:22 GMT]
Collapse

LilianNekipelov
LilianNekipelov  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:32
Russian to English
+ ...
Hi, Martina. If you cannot do the kind of job Mar 10, 2015

a particular client requires, there is no way you can keep such a client. They have to find someone else who can do the job. This is the way of life. if you are nice, and sound professional they may offer you other types of jobs in the future, such that you are capable of doing.

Diana Coada (X)
Diana Coada (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:32
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Do not waste your time Mar 10, 2015

with this type of ''clients'' or feel guilty for turning them down.