Telephone interpreting-is it worth it?
Thread poster: Alexandra Rychlinski
Alexandra Rychlinski
Alexandra Rychlinski
United Kingdom
Romanian to English
May 24, 2012

Hello,

I work as a telephone interpreter for a UK company and I have to wait by the phone 8 hours per day and get paid 60 pounds for that day. I was entitled to 48 minutes break until now and was allowed to decide whether I want several short breaks or one big one, but as of June, things are changing.

As of June, we will have slots of 4 hours and we won't be able to take more than 24 minutes per slot (even if I don't take the other 24 minutes from the other 4 hour slot
... See more
Hello,

I work as a telephone interpreter for a UK company and I have to wait by the phone 8 hours per day and get paid 60 pounds for that day. I was entitled to 48 minutes break until now and was allowed to decide whether I want several short breaks or one big one, but as of June, things are changing.

As of June, we will have slots of 4 hours and we won't be able to take more than 24 minutes per slot (even if I don't take the other 24 minutes from the other 4 hour slot). In addition to that, the company used to do the invoices for us and pay us per invoicing period (invoicing period=2 weeks). As of June, we have to do our own invoices and they will be calculated per slot...

Before implementing this new system, nobody asked us what we think of it or if we agree to the new rules... personally, I take some difficult calls and some of them take hours... I don't think it's fair to impose a 24 minute break over 4 hours as sometimes we need a cup of tea or something to eat, or we just need 30 minutes to recover and rest our brains after a difficult call ... I also think it's ridiculous that they pay us 7.5/hour in these working conditions... that's how much a housekeeping assistant gets paid...

Is there anyone else who is doing telephone interpreting and thinks we're being exploited?
Collapse

akkek
akkek  Identity Verified