Do you use Livescribe SmartPen? How does it work?
Thread poster: Eszter Chrobacsinszky
Eszter Chrobacsinszky
Eszter Chrobacsinszky
Local time: 22:47
English to Hungarian
+ ...
May 6, 2011

Dear all,

I'm an interpretation student, and I'm writing my thesis about SmartPen and its possible uses in interpreting schools, maybe even in the booth. I would like to ask anyone who has used it in an interpretation task to tell me about their experience. Also interested in opinions type "no use whatsoever" and "only the weak and coward use such methods". Thank you.

Dusan Rabrenovic
Dusan Rabrenovic  Identity Verified
Slovenia
Member (2008)
German to Slovenian
+ ...
Lack of top-spiralled notebooks May 7, 2011

All the notebooks they offer for use with this Smartpen seem to have the spiral binding on the side instead of at the top, as you would use it for interpreting (or at least I would). Have you considered this shortcoming, or are there suppliers of other notebook formats as well?

FarkasAndras
FarkasAndras  Identity Verified
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Thoughts May 8, 2011

nauphragus wrote:

I'm an interpretation student, and I'm writing my thesis about SmartPen and its possible uses in interpreting schools, maybe even in the booth.

I guess it could come in really handy if an interpreting student wanted to check up on their performance in practice. It could be used to record the original speech along with the notes taken (although it'd be better to record the original with a better mike placed closer to the speaker). It would allow you to check your note-taking and, if you also record yourself, see how well you did.
I don't see a use for it "in the booth", though. I can't see how it would be useful in simul - or indeed in consec - in a real job situation.

Eszter Chrobacsinszky
Eszter Chrobacsinszky
English to Hungarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Lack of top-spiralled notebooks May 8, 2011