Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 10:17
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Sep 23, 2008

My flatscreen was connected to my old Win2000 pc, and I had been working exclusively on my laptop since 2006.
Now I tried to connect the external screen (a 2003 model) to the external port of the laptop.
I had the laptop switched off, connected the external screen, switched it on and started XP Pro.

At first the initial screen appeared on the external screen, but suddenly it went dark and an icon with a pc and a screen and a broken wire appeared. In the display menu the
... See more
My flatscreen was connected to my old Win2000 pc, and I had been working exclusively on my laptop since 2006.
Now I tried to connect the external screen (a 2003 model) to the external port of the laptop.
I had the laptop switched off, connected the external screen, switched it on and started XP Pro.

At first the initial screen appeared on the external screen, but suddenly it went dark and an icon with a pc and a screen and a broken wire appeared. In the display menu the laptop is display 1 and display 2 is not in use.

So I don't know, if my external screen is an outdated model that is not compatible with XP or what is the reason. I had expected XP would find a new device, install it and so on, but no.
I tried twice, the same result.

Is anybody of you able to suggest what I should do? This is not important, I just wanted to try this out.

Regards
Heinrich
Collapse

tectranslate ITS GmbH
tectranslate ITS GmbH
Local time: 09:17
German
+ ...
Check your display settings Sep 23, 2008

You should be able to set up the 2nd display via the Windows Control Panel. This usually allows you to specify whether you want the desktop to span two displays, clone the desktop, or enable only one of the displays at a time.

HTH,
Benjamin

Siegfried Armbruster
Siegfried Armbruster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
In memoriam