Thread poster: Jrome
Jrome
Jrome
France
Local time: 21:08
English to French
Dec 13, 2020

Hey there, everyone!

I've recently succeeded in a translation test for an agency, and they want me to sign their NDA and "Terms and Conditions". I've signed a few NDAs in the past when working with direct clients, they were relatively direct and straightforward, but I'm not sure about these ones. I'm not too good at reading contracts and Terms, admittedly, and the mentions of "at the Service Provider's expenses", and of my "potential liabilities" in general, are a little too frequen
... See more
Hey there, everyone!

I've recently succeeded in a translation test for an agency, and they want me to sign their NDA and "Terms and Conditions". I've signed a few NDAs in the past when working with direct clients, they were relatively direct and straightforward, but I'm not sure about these ones. I'm not too good at reading contracts and Terms, admittedly, and the mentions of "at the Service Provider's expenses", and of my "potential liabilities" in general, are a little too frequent for my liking. Not that I intend to breach anything, but it's written in what I'd personaly consider to be typical "legalese", and I don't want them getting back at me with ludicrous liabilities for breaches of clauses I didn't understand in the first place.

That, and the way I understand it, I'm apparently forbidden to work directly with their clients even after the end of our contract, with no time limitation, unless they explicitely tell me I can in writing. But again, I might be misinterpreting it. They also have a section on Data Privacy in which they apparently expect me to do a lot of record keeping, I think, and autorizing audits in my work place, which is my house. Not sure I'm comfortable with that. All in all, it's a complicated mess, to me at least, going for 27 pages.