Strategy for newbie: publishing novel translation
Thread poster: Penelope62
Penelope62
Penelope62
United States
Mar 3, 2018

I am not a professional translator. Decided to try my hand at translating my favorite novel. It does not seem to be available in English. I have a demanding career, so I cannot spend much time on this hobby. Since I have no name as a translator and make very slow progress, I figure it's best for me to translate the whole book before getting rights and trying to find an interested publisher. The novel has been around for decades, so I'm not particularly worried about being scooped on the rights, ... See more
I am not a professional translator. Decided to try my hand at translating my favorite novel. It does not seem to be available in English. I have a demanding career, so I cannot spend much time on this hobby. Since I have no name as a translator and make very slow progress, I figure it's best for me to translate the whole book before getting rights and trying to find an interested publisher. The novel has been around for decades, so I'm not particularly worried about being scooped on the rights, neither do I need to make money on this, although it would be nice. My measure of success is for my husband and son to be able to read the book, publishing it would be the icing on the cake. But I do love icing!

Does translating the book before worrying about rights and pitches sound like a good approach given my circumstances? When I'm done, should I find an agent? If so, how do I find one that works well for translations? Thanks for any advice you can give me.

[Edited at 2018-03-03 15:09 GMT]
Collapse

Sarah Lewis-Morgan
Sarah Lewis-Morgan  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 14:10
Member (2014)
German to English
+ ...
Is it still protected by copyright? Mar 3, 2018