What counts as a 'legal' or 'certified' translation?
Thread poster: Helen Birkbeck
Helen Birkbeck
Helen Birkbeck  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:26
Member (2011)
German to English
+ ...
Oct 26, 2017

I have translated several official documents such as divorce certificates but, when asked this week to translate a passport, I found out I couldn't because it had to be done by a 'legal' translator. Does this mean one with law qualifications, or the same as 'certified'? And what, in the UK, does that actually mean anyway? I have a degree in my languages and years of experience, but nothing more. I would be grateful for clarification.

Angela Malik
Angela Malik  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
German to English
+ ...
In the UK, translators are not certified, TRANSLATIONS are Oct 26, 2017

In the UK, we do not have certified translators, only certified translations. This means that when you translate the document, you include a certificate that is basically just a statement signed by you as the professional translator, confirming that the translation is a "true and accurate translation of the original document".

My certificate looks like this:
"I certify that the translation of the following document from [source language] to [target language] is a true and accu
... See more
In the UK, we do not have certified translators, only certified translations. This means that when you translate the document, you include a certificate that is basically just a statement signed by you as the professional translator, confirming that the translation is a "true and accurate translation of the original document".

"I certify that the translation of the following document from [source language] to [target language] is a true and accurate translation of the original document.
[My reference number for the translation project]
[Name and description of the translation project]
Date of translation
[My signature, my job title, my contact details]"