Thread poster: Luca Ruella
Luca Ruella
Luca Ruella  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
Jan 21, 2016

I have received a collaboration offer from a company, that raises several red flags:

I am a Project Manager at Translina and I am currently working on updating our database.
At the moment we are looking for regular translators for a long-term and successful collaboration.
We have many translation projects in the mentioned language pair in many different areas.
Please let me know if you are interested in collaboration with our company.
... See more
I have received a collaboration offer from a company, that raises several red flags:

I am a Project Manager at Translina and I am currently working on updating our database.
At the moment we are looking for regular translators for a long-term and successful collaboration.
We have many translation projects in the mentioned language pair in many different areas.
Please let me know if you are interested in collaboration with our company.
Please let me know your best rates and your availability.
Will you be also available to do a short test translation for us if at all possible.
Many thanks!
Best Regards,

1) The mail is from John Adam, but it's signed Sara Gomes
2) They write "mentioned language pair" but there is no language pair mentioned anywhere
3) The name of the company is mispelled (Tranlina\Translina)

They do have a website which raises even more red flags because it's incomplete in some parts, contains placeholder text in other parts and is full of grammatical mistakes all over the place. There is even a youtube promo about the company which claims that they are "covering a new worlds everyday" and able to "translate the languages of the famous".

Has anyone received similar messages?

I would suggest being super careful.

From a bogus email address, I've tried sending them the following reply:

Dear John\Sara,