Billing to Spain as a foreign resident freelancer - what are the tax rules?
Thread poster: Ibex Alley
Ibex Alley
Ibex Alley
Australia
Local time: 19:31
Spanish to English
Jul 17, 2017

I am a resident of Australia, but have a couple of clients in Spain. As I am not registered as a Spanish autónomo, I have been billing them using my Australian Business Number.

I'm trying to determine what income tax, if any, I should pay in Spain.

One of my clients is in the habit of charging me 15% IRPF, which seems to be a pretty standard income tax.

My other client is in the habit of charging me 24%, the Spanish non-resident tax. On the surface, this
... See more
I am a resident of Australia, but have a couple of clients in Spain. As I am not registered as a Spanish autónomo, I have been billing them using my Australian Business Number.

I'm trying to determine what income tax, if any, I should pay in Spain.

One of my clients is in the habit of charging me 15% IRPF, which seems to be a pretty standard income tax.

My other client is in the habit of charging me 24%, the Spanish non-resident tax. On the surface, this may seem correct, seeing as I'm a foreign resident. But all the information I've found about this tax online pertains to foreigners who receive an income from property and investments they own in Spain—hardly analogous to my situation.

(As regards VAT, I think I've determined that they can take care of that on their end, but am open to being set straight on this point.)

I'd be grateful for a helping hand, as these tax questions are doing my head in a little!
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:01
English to French
Unhelpful reply Jul 17, 2017

Ibex Alley wrote:
...One of my clients is in the habit of charging me 15% IRPF, which seems to be a pretty standard income tax.

...My other client is in the habit of charging me 24%...